Skip to product information
1 of 5

Belinda Kroll • Cozy paranormal fantasy + interracial romance

A Spirited Engagement (large print paperback) signed

A Spirited Engagement (large print paperback) signed

Regular price $34.00 USD
Regular price $34.00 USD Sale price $34.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Other editions

eBook Paperback (signed)

Jane Austen meets Ghostbusters in this sweet & swoony Victorian fantasy romance where the rival ghost bride is just the beginning...

For fans of Stephanie Burgis, Tilly Wallace, and Olivia Atwater

It is a truth universally acknowledged that
ghost brides are annoying romantic rivals.

Making her reluctant return to London after a ten-year absence, Tessa Preston cannot hide her dismay at her employer's friendliness with Jasper Steele, the man who chased her away. To make matters more annoying, he's haunted by a most insistent ghost bride.

Determined to prove her indifference to the charming Jasper, Tessa realizes the entitled ghost demanding his attention may not be all she seems. Meanwhile, unaware of Tessa's enmity, Jasper is delighted to have a second chance at her affections, and will let nothing, not even her cold stares, dampen his enthusiasm.

A Spirited Engagement is a cozy Victorian fantasy featuring sweet romance, annoying ghosts, found family, and a plucky BIPOC heroine kicking butt in all her finery surrounded by whimsical fun.

Excerpt

Mary looked at Tessa, eyes wide in a silent appeal.

“Please join us inside, Mr. Steele. We might get acquainted with your situation that caused you to seek Miss Trentwood.” Tessa couldn’t help but smile, then. “Perhaps it’s this Miss Carterprice who stands, I mean, hovers beside you?”

Jasper swiveled from Eloise to Mary and back again to Tessa. “My God, you can see her too, can’t you?” he said before keeling forward, unconscious, into Tessa’s alarmed arms.

Tessa staggered under his weight with an awkward grunt, eyes wide.

Mary cleared her throat. “Jasper and ghosts don’t entirely mix.” She turned to Pomeroy, who remained coolly observant. “Ah, Pomeroy, as convenient as ever. Would you be so kind as to relieve Miss Preston of her charge? I think the library, perhaps, would be suitable for his convalescence.”

As Tessa sank under Jasper’s weight, she gasped. “Are you certain you’ve not had much experience with ghosts, Miss Trentwood? You’re handling this all remarkably well.”

Mary grinned. “I said nothing of the sort.”

“But Dame Hartwell—”

“Well, really, Miss Preston. And who am I to correct my future mother-in-law, and a member of the peerage, besides? Now Pomeroy, if you please.”

Pomeroy lifted Jasper from Tessa as if he were nothing more than an overweight cloak draped in her arms. Tessa coughed her surprise, thinking a man with that white of hair should not be nearly so strong. She followed Mary and Pomeroy into the house, mystified.

Content

Romantic rating: Low heat content with a focus on emotion and kissing.

Warning: The villain exerts compulsion on a character and a non-consensual kiss.

Tropes: Annoyances to lovers, second chances, ghost girlfriend, possession, found family, BIPOC heroine, kicking butt in all her finery, hero falls (in love) first, forced proximity, love wins all battle, they save each other.

Exclusives

Signed and illustrated editions are exclusive to Belinda's store!

These printed products are made especially for you as soon as you place an order, which is why it takes a bit longer to deliver. Making products on demand instead of in bulk helps reduce overproduction, so thank you for making thoughtful purchasing decisions.

Thank you for enabling the creation of future works by buying direct, and respecting the immense energy expended to create the beloved work in your hands.

View full details
  • Shipping & delivery

    If you placed an order for multiple items, you may receive separate shipments. Digital items delivered via BookFunnel.

    Read the full policy 
  • Returns, exchanges, refunds

    There are no cancellations, exchanges, or refunds due to the custom-to-you production process. Let me know if you need help, though!

    Read the full policy 
  • Exclusive content

    When you order direct, you enable the creation of future works and support the immense energy expended to provide exclusive editions and merchandise unavailable elsewhere. Enjoy!

1 of 3

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
Illustrated portrait of Belinda, created from an app

Books by Belinda Kroll feature sweet romance, comedy-of-manners dialogue and action, gaslamp genre settings, and mundane, magical, or paranormal elements. Short stories may or may not include romantic elements.

Thanks for reading my escapist Victorian stories.

  • Don't miss the July Chronicle! - Belinda Kroll

    Don't miss the July Chronicle!

    Dearest Reader, If you move to the Founder or Enthusiast tiers this month, you can still receive May's Chronicle, which included a newsletter from our mysterious correspondent reporting on the...

    Don't miss the July Chronicle!

    Dearest Reader, If you move to the Founder or Enthusiast tiers this month, you can still receive May's Chronicle, which included a newsletter from our mysterious correspondent reporting on the...

  • Grab your ARC for A Spirited Engagement! - Belinda Kroll

    Grab your ARC for A Spirited Engagement!

    My darlings, A Spirited Engagement launches February 20th! It's beyond exciting to see the positive response so far. If you'd like to grab an Advance Reader Copy, jump over to...

    Grab your ARC for A Spirited Engagement!

    My darlings, A Spirited Engagement launches February 20th! It's beyond exciting to see the positive response so far. If you'd like to grab an Advance Reader Copy, jump over to...

  • Coming soon! Book boxes and illustrated hardcovers - Belinda Kroll

    Coming soon! Book boxes and illustrated hardcovers

    We're ramping up for the release of the special edition book boxes celebrating the hardcover edition of Haunting Miss Trentwood, complete with a dust jacket, custom cover, and interior illustrations!...

    Coming soon! Book boxes and illustrated hardcovers

    We're ramping up for the release of the special edition book boxes celebrating the hardcover edition of Haunting Miss Trentwood, complete with a dust jacket, custom cover, and interior illustrations!...

1 of 3