Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Last April (paperback)

The Last April (paperback)

Regular price $14.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $14.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Winner of the 2017 Self-Publishing Review award

For readers who enjoy sassy and resourceful young women, books about the American Civil War civilian life, and snippets from newspapers of the era.

For fans of Ann Rinaldi, Kathy Cannon Wiechman

Spontaneous, fifteen-year-old Gretchen vows to help heal the nation from the recently ended Civil War. On the morning of President Lincoln’s death, Gretchen finds an amnesiac Confederate in her garden and believes this is her chance for civic goodwill.

But reconciliation is not as simple as Gretchen assumed. When her mother returns from the market with news that a Confederate murdered the president, Gretchen wonders if she caught the killer. Tensions between her aunt and mother rise as Gretchen nurses her Confederate prisoner, revealing secrets from their past that make Gretchen question everything she knows about loyalty, honor, and trust.

The Last April is an entertaining, thoughtful novella of Ohio after the Civil War, meant to encourage readers to reflect on themes of fear and hope in uncertain political times.

NOTE: There is no fantasy in this book. This is a straight cozy historical fiction with low stakes and high emphasis on slice-of-life in the days following President Lincoln's death.

View full details

Customer Reviews

Based on 12 reviews
50%
(6)
33%
(4)
17%
(2)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
T
TL

Not a bad books, takes awhile to get going and can feel repetitive at times during the first half. Some of the suspense is not there because we know "Karl" didn't kill Lincoln and the mystery of who he is isn't really a whole big focus. The more exciting parts were after some family drama came into play and peaked my interest. A few amusing parts as well. I wouldn't mind a novella with Tante Klegg though, would love to see more of her life before this story started. Certain few characters in here can go jump in a fiery lake, just saying. I think teens might enjoy this more perhaps but still worth a read for anyone methinks.

S
Stacy Brunner

Historical fiction is my favorite! Historical fiction that can capture the interest of young people is especially dear to me. The Last April weaves a clever tale into a significant time in our nation's history while also immersing us in local history. It's an exciting story that gives a glimpse into the lives of Ohioans during the time of the Civil War. It takes place on a farm outside Columbus in the home of German immigrants. A hefty list of references confirms that the author has done her research!

K
Karyn H
I love this book

Belinda Kroll went to a great extent in exploring real historic ideas in telling this story. It makes this story very easy to relate to. This book was absolutely interesting to read with its vivid description of war. This is a thought-provoking book that explores a lot of historical facts about American history through the period of war. I love this book. I really find it interesting because it offered me insight as to the real events of 1865. It was easy to draw some facts from this well-written novel.

S
Sue Brooks

I'll start by saying that Belinda Kroll is a new author for me to read -- and OMG, she is an amazing author!!! She did an awesome job of researching the story - which really made the reading of the book more enjoyable. The amazing American history facts that were written into the story made the reading a pleasant experience. This story starts by introducing you to Gretchen - a teenage girl who lives in Ohio during the civil war. When she discovers a soldier while working in her garden of her home, Gretchen isn't sure what she should do. She and her Aunt move the stranger into their home and start to render him aid. At the same time, they realize the war has ended and then that President Lincoln has been assassinated. As the story continues, Gretchen begins to learn things about her past that she had no idea about. I don't write spoilers -- but, OMG this was an amazing book to read!!! This was an easy read - a fun escape back into time!! I really enjoy historical type novels - especially when they are historically accurate!!

S
Shanell Meek
A fantastic page turning historical novel

The Last April by Belinda Kroll is a historical novel that takes place in Ohio in 1865. Gretchen is a 15 year old who finds a confederate soldier who escaped from a prison camp not far from her home, she takes him in and nurses him back to health despite the protests from her family members. Gretchen’s family is certain that the young man could have killed President Lincoln but Gretchen is convinced that she needs to help him because they would want someone to help her brother if he was hurt and trying to get home. The novel is a pretty quick read, I started and finished it during my daughters nap time. Belinda Kroll shows a keen knowledge for American history around the civil war and throws interesting tidbits about it into her story to create depth. I think the story would appeal to all different age ranges, I know I fully enjoyed.

  • Shipping & delivery

    Free shipping $50+ to Continental USA. Digital items are delivered via BookFunnel.

    Read the full policy 
  • Returns, exchanges, refunds

    There are no cancellations or refunds, but please contact me if you need help.

    Read the full policy 
  • Exclusive content

    When you order direct, you get content and discounts you can't get anywhere else, including hardcover formats and reader gifts. Enjoy!

1 of 3