Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Last April (hardcover)

The Last April (hardcover)

Regular price $24.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Winner of the 2017 Self-Publishing Review award

For readers who enjoy sassy and resourceful young women, books about the American Civil War civilian life, and snippets from newspapers of the era.

For fans of Ann Rinaldi, Kathy Cannon Wiechman

Spontaneous, fifteen-year-old Gretchen vows to help heal the nation from the recently ended Civil War. On the morning of President Lincoln’s death, Gretchen finds an amnesiac Confederate in her garden and believes this is her chance for civic goodwill.

But reconciliation is not as simple as Gretchen assumed. When her mother returns from the market with news that a Confederate murdered the president, Gretchen wonders if she caught the killer. Tensions between her aunt and mother rise as Gretchen nurses her Confederate prisoner, revealing secrets from their past that make Gretchen question everything she knows about loyalty, honor, and trust.

The Last April is an entertaining, thoughtful novella of Ohio after the Civil War, meant to encourage readers to reflect on themes of fear and hope in uncertain political times.

NOTE: There is no fantasy in this book. This is a straight cozy historical fiction with low stakes and high emphasis on slice-of-life in the days following President Lincoln's death.

Exclusive to Belinda's store!

This product is made especially for you as soon as you place an order, which is why it takes a bit longer to deliver it. Making products on demand instead of in bulk helps reduce overproduction, so thank you for making thoughtful purchasing decisions!

View full details

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
  • Shipping & delivery

    Free shipping $50+ to Continental USA. Digital items are delivered via BookFunnel.

    Read the full policy 
  • Returns, exchanges, refunds

    There are no cancellations or refunds, but please contact me if you need help.

    Read the full policy 
  • Exclusive content

    When you order direct, you get content and discounts you can't get anywhere else, including hardcover formats and reader gifts. Enjoy!

1 of 3