Skip to product information
1 of 6

Belinda Kroll

Haunting Miss Trentwood

Haunting Miss Trentwood

Format
Regular price $15.00
Regular price $15.00 Sale price $15.00
Sale Sold out

The first book in the Hesitant Mediums series

It was a truth universally acknowledged that one’s suitors and ghosts are never easy with one another, especially when the ghost was one’s father.

For fans of Olivia Atwater, Tilly Wallace, and Charlie N. Holmberg

Weary from years of caregiving, Mary is certain she on the path to insanity when she sees her father's ghost crawl from his grave. When a handsome London lawyer arrives accusing blackmail, Mary stumbles into a mystery that forces her to revisit memories and rethink her future.

You can also find this book on other retailers in paperback, eBook, and audio.

Preview

As soon as the door was shut, Mary threw her hands to her face. “I did not see my father’s ghost.” She shivered despite being drenched with sweat. “I must be mad.”

“A bit dramatic, I suppose, but mad? Would I allow you to run my household if you were mad?”

Mary screamed. She grabbed her skirts and scrambled atop her headboard.
At the foot of her bed stood her father. At least, she thought it was her father. It certainly looked just like him. Trentwood stood as he always had when lecturing her, hands clasped behind his back with a stern look on his face.

“So you didn’t see me, eh?”

Content

Romantic rating: No or low heat content with a focus on emotion and kissing.

Tropes: Friends to lovers, found family, stuck in one house, sunshine hero, grumpy heroine, ghost dad, old retainer battle butler

Exclusives

Hardcover options are exclusive to Belinda's store!

These printed products are made especially for you as soon as you place an order, which is why it takes a bit longer to deliver. Making products on demand instead of in bulk helps reduce overproduction, so thank you for making thoughtful purchasing decisions. Thank you for enabling the creation of future works by buying direct, and respecting the immense energy expended to create the beloved work in your hands.

Thank you, Kickstarter supporters!

View full details
  • Shipping & delivery

    If you placed an order for multiple items, you may receive separate shipments. Digital items delivered via BookFunnel.

    Read the full policy 
  • Returns, exchanges, refunds

    There are no cancellations, exchanges, or refunds due to the custom-to-you production process. Let me know if you need help, though!

    Read the full policy 
  • Exclusive content

    When you order direct, you enable the creation of future works and support the immense energy expended to provide exclusive editions and merchandise unavailable elsewhere. Enjoy!

1 of 3

Customer Reviews

Based on 13 reviews
54%
(7)
31%
(4)
8%
(1)
8%
(1)
0%
(0)
J
JamieBJ
Whimsical and gothic

I read A LOT, so it’s rare when I see a book—especially a fiction book--that is truly something different. This is one of those rare unique books, and though I’ve finished it, I haven’t quite decided whether or not I like it.

The book feels a bit uneven to me, going between a very British tongue-in-cheek humor and a somewhat macabre Gothic feel. The dialogue felt a little stilted at times, like the author was trying a little too hard, perhaps. If the dialogue were better, I think I would have been more firmly on the “like” side of the equation.

The characters have strongly distinctive voices; you can easily determine which perspective character a chapter is written from before you read too far. The heroine is strong, cannily intelligent, and sure of herself, even in unusual circumstances. The hero is a no-nonsense guy… who has to deal with a lot of nonsense. The butler Pomeroy was a hoot, in the classically English understated way, whenever he showed up. The ghost dad was a bit gruff, but you could tell he loved his daughter and wanted the best for her.

So, this is a quirky read that you’ll probably either love or hate, depending on how you feel about a book that could be called whimsically Gothic.

J
Jasmine Bloom
Absolutely charming

Haunting Miss Trentwood is a charming, sweet romance that will have you devouring each chapter in pursuit of answers and just more time with these eccentric characters. The ghost is very nearly the star of the show with his frank and teasing observations. That said the rest of the cast hold their own, each being interesting individuals with backstories, motives and agendas of their own.
For all the darker moments, ultimately this story is charming and more often than not the characters leave you smiling and wanting more. I loved reading every page of this story.

K
K. Leer
this was a great concept for a historical paranormal story

this was a great concept for a historical paranormal story, it was what I was hoping for when I read the description and loved the idea of a supernatural historical series. Hesitant Mediums didn't hesitate to hook me in and keep me invested.

D
Di Ketchup

From the premise to the ending, this book was all surprise and complexity, and some were somewhat unrealistic. However, that is why we love romance--even the most unlikely events somehow work out to get an endearing couple to their ending.

B
Babs
Well worth reading

The first book in the Hesitant Mediums series, this is a new Author to me. Mary, Trentwood her Father's ghost and London lawyer Hartwell's story.The story is well written with an interesting storyline that kept me turning pages. This is a new Author to me. I want to read more by her. I received a copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

Illustrated portrait of Belinda, created from an app

Books by Belinda Kroll feature sweet romance, comedy-of-manners dialogue and action, gaslamp genre settings, and mundane, magical, or paranormal elements. Short stories may or may not include romantic elements.

Thanks for reading my escapist Victorian stories.