The Last April

Marketing banner displaying print and eBook covers
The Last April by Belinda Kroll is available in eBook, audio, and print.

The Last April won the 2017 Self-Publishing Review Award!

Read THE LAST APRIL if you enjoy: Sassy and resourceful young women, books about Civil War civilian life, snippets from newspapers of the era.


Spontaneous, fifteen-year-old Gretchen vows to help heal the nation from the recently ended Civil War. On the morning of President Lincoln’s death, Gretchen finds an amnesiac Confederate in her garden and believes this is her chance for civic goodwill.

But reconciliation is not as simple as Gretchen assumed. When her mother returns from the market with news that a Confederate murdered the president, Gretchen wonders if she caught the killer. Tensions between her aunt and mother rise as Gretchen nurses her Confederate prisoner, revealing secrets from their past that make Gretchen question everything she knows about loyalty, honor, and trust.

The Last April is an entertaining, thoughtful novella of Ohio after the Civil War, meant to encourage readers to reflect on themes of fear and hope in uncertain political times.

Reader fun

Reader praise for The Last April

  • From Stacy B.
    “…Historical fiction that can capture the interest of young people is especially dear to me. The Last April weaves a clever tale into a significant time in our nation’s history while also immersing us in local history. It’s an exciting story that gives a glimpse into the lives of Ohioans during the time of the Civil War.”
  • From Karen H.
    “I love this book, Belinda Kroll went to a great extent in exploring real historic ideas in telling this story. It makes this story very easy to relate to. This book was absolutely interesting to read with its vivid description of war. This is a thought-provoking book that explores a lot of historical facts about American history through the period of war.”

Publisher: Bright Bird Press
Date published: March 20, 2017
Edition: 1st
ISBN: 978-0-9830786-5-4
eISBN: 978-0-9830786-6-1
Audio: 978-0-9830786-8-5