A Spirited Engagement

Book 2 of the Hesitant Mediums series

During the peak of Victorian spiritualism in England, three young women have the skill to speak with the dearly departed, but wish they didn’t. Read this series for an entertaining jaunt into 1880s England full of ghosts who simply must have their say.

All books feature elements of sweet romance, fantasy-of-manners dialogue and action, gaslamp genre settings, and ghosts/spirits.


It was a truth universally acknowledged that a mother with an unwed son was likely to foist him upon a séance populated with marriageable young women.

For fans of Olivia Atwater, Tilly Wallace, and Charlie N. Holmberg!

Jasper Steele has had enough close encounters with ghosts to last a lifetime. When he finds himself the center of a séance gone terribly wrong, he seeks the help of his former paramour and her new fiancé for help. Mary Trentwood and Alex Hartwell (Haunting Miss Trentwood), with their new friend Miss Tessa Preston, agree to do what they can to rid Jasper of his unwanted ghostly companion, who swears she shall have him for her husband. Which is just as well, for while Jasper may be avoiding a ghostly engagement, it doesn’t mean he is entirely against the idea now that Miss Preston in the picture.

Tessa Preston, now gainfully employed as the resident medium for Dame Hartwell, is determined to prove she deserves to be a member of the exclusive Marylebone Spiritualist Association. When her appeal is rejected yet again, Tessa realizes the only way to convince the board of her worth is to perform the most perfect séance… Which would be far easier if the subject weren’t haunting the man who haunts Tessa’s dreams…

Read this story for a fun, light read featuring historical fantasy, Victorian comedy of manners, and plucky BIPOC heroine kicking butt in all her finery.

Genres & Tropes
Historical Fantasy, Victorian Paranormal, Kicking butt in all her finery, Action girls

Details

Published: October 1, 2024 (expected)
Publisher: Bright Bird Press
Formats: eBook, Paperback, audiobook
Print ISBN:
eISBN:
ASIN: